Opening Weekend

AYLI opening danceRandy here.  I had the rare experience of directing a play and not being able to come to the opening of that play.  The dates just happened to coincide with FLOWER DRUM SONG, a show that was closing that weekend.  I have never wanted to be at two places at the same time more in my life.  Luckily I had Rachael Crew, give me a play by play,via text messages.  I was amazed by the turn out.  There were over 100 people there on each of the days, equalling a weekend of over 250 witnesses.  This kind of response is a reflection of the greatness of the Twin Cities community.  The crowd was a beautiful mix of age, race, and socio-economic background.  It wasn’t strickly a theater crowd, but a Twin Cities crowd.  Of course, this is what I heard, since I wasn’t actually there.  But if you have any stories, images, moments, from this weekends performances, please do share.  Would love to hear more.

Leave a Reply

